webinar register page

Webinar banner
Librarians supporting universal broadband to continue providing essential services to communities everywhere
IFLA has championed the UN's Sustainable Development Goals for a long time. The Internet Governance Forum has called attention to the Internet as a vehicle for human resilience and solidarity. They have stated that inclusion achieved by access to the Internet is a key contributor towards a stronger economy and enhanced economic development through shared wealth, shared employment, and equal opportunity for all, and is an enabler towards the fulfillment of the UN’s 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. UNESCO has indicated that broadband is "the missing link" in global access to education. COVID-19 propelled a massive shift to digital which made evident the reality of inequality of access to the Internet which also plays into the mission and operation of libraries.

As per the ALA, broadband in libraries is needed by patrons to access devices, collections and information, and a myriad of services. It is also used by librarians to create and develop content accessed by patrons and provide access to transformative resources to better the education and lifelong learning of communities deeply impacted by COVID-19 in all regions of the world.

Join us and hear from library leaders from IFLA, UNESCO MIL,and libraries in different regions share considerations on how to move forward towards this urgent goal.

Moderated by Loida Garcia-Febo, CPDWL Consultant, International Library Consultant.

Time: 10:00am ET USA | 4:00pm Sweden | 8:30pm India

Dec 14, 2020 09:00 AM in Central Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
* Required information
Loading

By registering, I agree to the Privacy Statement and Terms of Service.

Register

Speakers

Dr. Jesus Lau
Co-Chair UNESCO Global Alliance for Partnerships on Media and Information Literacy (GAPMIL)
Catherina Isberg
Library Director @Helsingborg City Libraries
IFLA Governing Board Member